Managing your Zoomforth sites (Deactivation, Archiving, Deletion and Redirection)Media: video & written how-to articles • Account & site management • Under 10 min
By the end of this session, you will be able to:
- Deactivate sites, or schedule their deactivation for a later date
- Archive and delete sites
- Redirect your microsites to another online location
- Make use of other admin tools
In this video, we will review the more tab which contains your site management options. We’ll start in the actions column.
Clone as template: If you intend to use a site as a framework for many more sites, you can clone it as a template. Select the clone as template button to set the site as a template.
Modify site: If you’ve created a new site in Zoomforth that should replace this site, you should redirect this old site to the new one. Select the redirect button to add in the new URL path. After saving all links, pointing to this old site, we’ll be redirected to the new site’s default link.
Deactivation: Deactivation prevents further visits to a site by disabling all the links or URLs created. The site is not deleted, it keeps all its current properties like analytics and even the URLs, but site visitors will see a not found message on the page. Deactivated sites are searchable in the sites and templates dashboard and can still be edited.
Scheduled deactivation: When you enable this feature the site will automatically be deactivated on the scheduled dates and times. All visitors to the site’s URLs will see a not found 404 message making the site inaccessible.
Archive: When a site is archived, it goes through the same process changes as site deactivation. Except that the site goes to a folder called archived and can only be searched within that folder.
Delete: Click this button to delete your site. This will delete all the links which access your site. Now be careful if you accidentally delete a site contact Zoomforth support immediately, it may be possible to recover your site. However, things like links or analytics data could be permanently lost. If there is a new site replacing this existing one, consider redirecting instead.
Download: Select this button to download a screenshot of your site.
Edit history: This will generate a CSV of all the edits performed on your site, and site access failures will provide a CSV of the logs about the failed attempts to access your site.
Favicon URL: This is a small icon that gets displayed in the tab or website address bar of the browser. Here, you can replace the default favicon to enhance the branding of your site.
Now we’ve reviewed the site management options. Try an action like cloning, a template on your own for practice. For more information on how to use the platform, please see the modules in this video series.